You see, I don’t believe that libraries should be drab places where people sit in silence, and that’s been the main reason for our policy of employing wild animals as librarians.- Monty Python skit

I’ve been drunk for about a week now, and I though it might sober me up to sit in a library.
– The Great Gatsby, chapter 3 – F.Scott Fitzgerald (1896-1948)

A democratic society depends upon an informed and educated citizenry.
– Thomas Jefferson (1743-1826)

I am what the librarians have made me with a little assistance from a professor of Greek and a few poets. — Bernard Keble Sandwell (1876-1954)

If it is noticed that much of my outside work concerns itelf with libraries, there is an extremely good reason for this. I think that the better part of my education, almost as important as that secured in the schools and the universities, came from libraries. – Irving Stone (1903-1989)

I received the fundamentals of my education in school, but that was not enough. My real education, the
superstructure, the details, the true architecture, I got out of the public library. For an impoverished child whose family could not afford to buy books, the library was the open door to wonder and achievement, and I can never be sufficiently grateful that I had the wit to charge through that door and make the most of it. Now, when I read constantly about the way in which library funds are being cut and cut, I can only think that the door is closing and that American society has found one more way to destroy itself – Isaac Asimov


Information is the currency of democracy.
– Thomas Jefferson (1743-1826)

We are not afraid to entrust the American people with unpleasant facts, foreign ideas, alien philosophies, and competitive values. For a nation that is afraid to let its people judge the truth and falsehood in an open market is a nation that is afraid of its people- John F. Kennedy

