There is no such thing as a moral or immoral book. Books are either well written or badly written. That is all. – Oscar Wilde

Make thy books thy companions. Let thy cases and shelves be thy pleasure grounds and gardens. – Judah ibn-Tibbon (12th century)

Good as it is to inherit a library, it is better to collect one. – Augustine Birrell

My library Was dukedom large enough. – Shakespeare, The Tempest

I have lost all sense of home, having moved about so much. It means to me now — only that place where the books are kept. – John Steinbeck

People say that life is the thing, but I prefer reading. – Logan Pearsall Smith

I find that a great part of the information I have was acquired by looking something up and finding something else on the way. – Franklin P. Adams

Don’t join the book burners. Don’t think you are going to conceal faults by concealing evidence that they ever existed. Don’t be afraid to go into your library and read every book. – Dwight D. Eisenhower

Never lend books, for no one ever returns them; the only books I have in my library are books that other people have lent me. – Anatole France

To add a library to a house is to give that house a soul. – Cicero

Libraries are not made; they grow. – Augustine Birrell

